Who else do we support

?

As a fair fashion brand, it is important to us at paigh to contribute to more sustainability and fairness not only through our garments. In addition, we want to support organizations that improve the lives of children and adults living in challenging circumstances in a sustainable and long-term way. Projects that serve development aid are particularly close to our hearts. This is because good development cooperation involves industrialized countries and less developed countries cooperating in such a way that people are able to improve their living conditions through their own efforts wherever possible. This leads to lasting and truly sustainable changes in the lives of many people.

At the end of each year we donate a small portion of our sales to selected charities. So you also contribute with your purchase at paigh a small part to a fairer world and to the fact that many people in this world can be better off in the long term!

.

"Health is not everything, but without health everything is nothing."

Particularly fundamental for our (all) well-being, just as for all people, is our health. If this is tarnished, this has effects on almost all other areas of life. Those who are seriously ill cannot go to school or work, for example, and are often dependent on help. It becomes even more dramatic when we become chronically ill or are permanently exposed to an increased risk of falling ill. So in addition to securing essential conditions of existence, our health is basically the basis of our lives. and determines our everyday life.

.

How often we get sick and how quickly we can then get well again is strongly influenced by the existing medical care of the country in which we live. Last year, at the latest, we all learned that this care can vary greatly from country to country. Particularly poor countries often lack the resources needed to contain diseases or heal sick people. Therefore, especially here health programs have a particularly positive impact on many areas of life.

.

It is important to us to support such projects that have a proven impact and are cost-effective and transparent. Therefore, when selecting the programs we would like to support, we followed the findings of effective-donatingor. GiveWell oriented.

Last but not least, wehave decided on three wonderful aid projects, each of which we would like to briefly introduce to you below.

.

Malaria Consortium

Malaria causes considerable suffering. Through the bite of a mosquito annually still more than 200 million people are infected, the majority of whom live on the African continent. For almost 450,000 people, the disease ends fatally, over ⅔ of the fatalities are children under five years. But even in a non-fatal course, the sufferers suffer enormously: malaria can, in addition to initial flu-like symptoms, lead to permanent restrictions of vision, hearing or epilepsy.

The risk of contracting malaria depends on the season in many countries. During the four-month rainy seasonthere are significantly more mosquitoes - making it the high season for malaria infections. The Malaria Consortium provides children with the preventive drugs sulfadoxine-pyrimethamine and amodiaquine during this time. These drugs are recommended by the WHO because they have proven themselves over the years, are effective and also inexpensive. Thus, it costs less than seven dollars to protect a child throughout the rainy season. In addition, the Malaria Consortium supports the training of staff members who administer the necessary medication to the children. Thereby, the Mitarbeiter:innen visit the children during the prevention period a total of four times in their homes.

The Malaria Consortium does not only help exclusively in African countries. The disease is also still a serious threat in Thailand and Southeast Asia, which is why the organization is also working to reduce malaria infections here. Since the majority of our products are manufactured in Thailand, this aspect of the project is of course particularly close to our hearts.

What is the benefit of preventive medication?

The effect of such "chemoprevention" by the drugs has been proven by several randomized trials: Ca. 75% of all clinical malaria cases could be avoided by chemoprevention programs. If malaria does occur, prevention makes the disease less severe. The decline of malaria infections but fortunately has not only for the individual benefits, but also shows in the economy: According to effective-donations.orgevery dollar spent on anti-malaria activities in African countries increases gross domestic product by $6.75, which is an extraordinarily high value.

So far, the Malaria Consortium has prevented more than 10 million cases of malaria.

Deworm the World Initiative

Worldwide, over 1.5 billion people are infected with worms. Yes, that's right. 1.5 BILLION. In the foreground are the worm diseases schistosomiasis and helminthiasis. The worm larvae enter the human body via contaminated soil, plants or water. The worm infestation can, especially in children, severe health consequences have and also fatal. For example, helminthiasis can lead to long-term growth disorders and anemia. Also the future of the children is endangered by the worm infestation: Due to school absences due to the disease, they can not enjoy sufficient education and earn significantly less than healthy children in adulthood - the risk of spending their entire lives in poverty increases immensely.

Effective worm treatment is very cheap. However, people living in extreme poverty lack the money even for this. With the cost-effective, school-based dewormingprogramsDeworm the World Initiative promotes, one child can be dewormedfor an entire year with just one dollar.

This involves children taking deworming pills twice a year under supervision, which reliably rid them of the parasites. Deworm The World focuses primarily on two countries Kenya and India. Here, the average total cost per treatment ranges from $0.35 to $0.66. The organization works with government agencies and promotes not only the preparation and implementation of the programs, but also the subsequent evaluation.

How deworming programs help children in the long term

.

Since 2014, with the help of the Deworm the World Initiative over 1 billion treatmentshave been administered, having positive effectson nutrition, cognitive skills, classroom participation, and long-term economic prospects. The effectiveness of deworming programs can be demonstrated by several scientifically accepted studies. As a result, the number of infected children drops dramatically; the effect is stronger the longer the pills are administered.

In 2017 alone, Deworm The World reached 280 million children. With its deworming measures, the project is not only particularly cost effective, but also very transparent and continues to have a high growth potential.

GiveDirectly

Every tenth person lives from less than 1.90 dollars a day - so in extreme poverty. Now it is, however, so that donations do not arrive at many programs directly, but only in a roundabout way at the needy. Classic development cooperation projects are often influenced more by political decisions than by the actual needs of the people in need. In addition, substantial portions of the money often go for Mitarbeiter:innen from donor countries or administrative costs drauf.

.

GiveDirectly does it differently: Here, people living in extreme poverty are transferred money by cell phone. The sum is the equivalent of one year's income. In Kenya, that's about $1,000 for a five-person household. These money transfers are not tied to any conditions and the recipients can use them, for example, to buy urgently needed food and medicine or to pay school fees. They do not have to pay back the money.

.

Where does the money go?

Of the donations that flow to GiveDirectly, only 15% is used for administrative purposes. This is an exceptionally low figure and makes the money transfers extremely efficient. The money is very secure from corruption as it is transferred via mobile banking directly to people's mobile phones. The beauty of this approach is also that it can be transferred to other countries without much effort.

.

You might not think it right away, but unconditional cash transfers help people - unlike many conventional aid measures - nsustainably and reliably out of poverty. A whole series of scientific studieshas shown that. Thus, not only do sustained improvements in areas such as education, health, and savings rates occur, but positive effects on the physical and psychological well-being of recipientsalso occur. The concern that the money is spent on alcohol or drugs, by the way, is - as studies show again and again - unfounded.

Money transfers are among the best evaluated approaches to development cooperation. Since the beginning, GiveDirectly also attaches great importance to the fact that the projects are scientifically accompanied and carefully evaluated. The organization is also very transparent and cost effective.

In 2018, GiveDirectly donated nearly 60 million dollars directly to extremely poor People.

Wen wir noch unterstützen

Als faire Modemarke ist es uns bei paigh wichtig, nicht nur durch unsere Kleidungsstücke zu mehr Nachhaltigkeit und Fairness beizutragen. Zusätzlich möchten wir Organisationen unterstützen, die das Leben von Kindern und Erwachsenen, die in herausfordernden Umständen leben, nachhaltig und langfristig verbessern. Dabei liegen uns besonders Projekte am Herzen, die der Entwicklungshilfe dienen. Denn bei guter Entwicklungszusammenarbeit kooperieren Industriestaaten und weniger entwickelte Länder so, dass die Menschen ihre Lebenssituation möglichst aus eigenen Kräften heraus verbessern können. Das führt zu dauerhaften und wirklich nachhaltigen Veränderungen im Leben viele Menschen. 

Am Ende jeden Jahres spenden wir also von nun an einen kleinen Anteil unserer Umsatzes an ausgewählte Hilfsorganisationen. So trägst auch du mit deinem Einkauf bei paigh einen kleinen Teil zu einer faireren Welt bei und dazu, dass es vielen Menschen auf dieser Welt langfristig besser gehen kann! 🧡

«Gesundheit ist zwar nicht alles, aber ohne Gesundheit ist alles nichts.»

Besonders grundlegend für unser (aller) Wohlergehen, genauso wie für alle Menschen, ist unsere Gesundheit. Wenn diese angeschlagen ist, hat das Auswirkungen auf beinah alle anderen Lebensbereiche. Wer schwer erkrankt ist, kann nämlich beispielsweise nicht zur Schule oder zur Arbeit gehen, und ist oftmals auf Hilfe angewiesen. Noch dramatischer wird es, wenn wir chronisch erkranken oder dauerhaft einem erhöhten Risiko ausgesetzt sind, zu erkranken. Neben der Sicherung essentieller Existenzbedingungen bildet unsere Gesundheit also im Grunde die Basis unseres Lebens. und bestimmt unseren Alltag.

Wie häufig wir krank werden und wie schnell wir dann wieder gesund werden können, wird stark durch die vorhandene medizinische Versorgung des Landes, in dem wir leben, beeinflusst. Dass diese Versorgung von Land zu Land sehr unterschiedlich aufgestellt sein kann, haben wir alle spätestens im letzten Jahr erfahren. Vor allem in besonders armen Ländern fehlen oftmals die Ressourcen, die es braucht, um Krankheiten einzudämmen oder kranke Menschen zu heilen. Daher wirken sich insbesondere hier Gesundheitsprogramme besonders positiv auf viele Lebensbereiche aus.

Es ist uns wichtig, solche Projekte zu unterstützen, die nachweislich eine Wirkung erzielen sowie kosteneffektiv und transparent sind. Bei der Auswahl der Programme, die wir unterstützen möchten, haben wir uns daher an den Erkenntnissen von effektiv-spenden bzw. GiveWell orientiert. 

Letztendlich haben wir uns für drei wundervolle Hilfsprojekte entschieden, die wir dir im Folgenden jeweils kurz vorstellen möchten. 🙏

 

Malaria Consortium

Malaria verursacht beträchtliches Leid. Durch den Biss eines Moskitos werden jährlich immer noch mehr als 200 Millionen Menschen infiziert, der Großteil davon lebt auf dem afrikanischen Kontinent. Für fast 450.000 Menschen endet die Krankheit tödlich, über ⅔ der Todesopfer sind Kinder unter fünf Jahren. Doch auch bei einem nicht tödlichen Verlauf leiden die Erkrankten enorm: Malaria kann, neben anfänglichen grippeähnlichen Symptomen, zu dauerhaften Einschränkungen des Sehvermögens, des Gehörs oder zu Epilepsie führen. 

Das Risiko, an Malaria zu erkranken, hängt in vielen Ländern von der Saison ab. Während der viermonatigen Regenzeit gibt es deutlich mehr Moskitos – das macht sie zur Hochsaison für Malariainfektionen. Das Malaria Consortium versorgt Kinder während dieser Zeit mit den vorbeugenden Medikamenten Sulfadoxin-Pyrimethamin und Amodiaquin. Diese Medikamente werden von der WHO empfohlen, weil sie sich über Jahre hinweg bewährt haben, effektiv sind und zudem kostengünstig. So kostet es weniger als sieben Dollar, ein Kind über die gesamte Regenzeit zu schützen. Zudem unterstützt das Malaria Consortium die Ausbildung von Mitarbeiter:innen, die den Kindern die notwendigen Medikamente verabreichen. Dabei besuchen die Mitarbeiter:innen die Kinder während des Präventionszeitraums insgesamt vier mal in ihrem Zuhause. 

Das Malaria Consortium hilft nicht nur ausschließlich in afrikanischen Ländern. Auch in Thailand und Südostasien stellt die Krankheit immer noch eine ernsthafte Bedrohung dar, weshalb sich die Organisation auch hier für einen Rückgang der Malaria-Infektionen einsetzt. Da der Großteil unserer Produkte in Thailand hergestellt wird, liegt uns dieser Aspekt des Projektes natürlich besonders am Herzen.

Was bringen präventive Medikamente?

Die Wirkung einer solchen “Chemoprävention” durch die Medikamente ist durch mehrere randomisierte Studien belegt worden: Ca. 75% aller klinischen Malaria-Fälle konnten durch Chemopräventionsprogramme vermieden werden. Kommt es doch zu einer Malariaerkrankung, verläuft die Krankheit durch die Prävention weniger schwerwiegend. Der Rückgang von Malariainfektionen hat aber glücklicherweise nicht nur für die einzelnen Menschen Vorteile, sondern zeigt sich auch in der Wirtschaft: Laut effektiv-spenden.org erhöht jeder Dollar, der in afrikanischen Ländern für Anti-Malaria Aktivitäten ausgegeben wird, das Bruttoinlandsprodukt um 6,75 Dollar, was einen außerordentlich hohen Wert darstellt.

Bisher konnte das Malaria Consortium mehr als 10 Millionen Fälle von Malaria verhindern.

 

Deworm the World Initiative

Weltweit sind über 1,5 Milliarden Menschen mit Würmern infiziert. Ja, richtig gehört. 1,5 MILLIARDEN. Im Vordergrund stehen die Wurmerkrankungen Schistosomiasis und Helminthiasis. Dabei gelangen die Wurmlarven über verunreinigte Böden, Pflanzen oder Gewässer in den Körper der Menschen. Der Wurmbefall kann, insbesondere bei Kindern, schwere gesundheitliche Folgen haben und auch tödlich enden. So kann Helminthiasis beispielsweise langfristig zu Wachstumsstörungen und Blutarmut führen. Auch die Zukunft der Kinder ist durch den Wurmbefall gefährdet: Durch die krankheitsbedingten Schulausfälle können sie nicht ausreichend Bildung genießen und verdienen im Erwachsenenalter deutlich weniger als gesunde Kinder – das Risiko, das gesamte Leben in Armut zu verbringen, steigt immens. 

Eine wirksame Wurmbehandlung ist sehr günstig. Den in extremer Armut lebenden Menschen fehlt jedoch selbst hierfür das Geld. Mit den kosteneffektiven, schulbasierten Entwurmungsprogrammen, welche die Deworm the World Initiative fördert, kann ein Kind mit nur einem Dollar für ein ganzes Jahr entwurmt werden. 

Dabei nehmen Kinder zweimal pro Jahr unter Aufsicht Entwurmungspillen, die sie zuverlässig von den Parasiten befreien. Deworm The World konzentriert sich vor allem auf die beiden Länder Kenia und Indien. Die durchschnittlichen Gesamtkosten liegen hier pro Behandlung zwischen 0,35 und 0,66 Dollar. Die Organisation arbeitet mit staatlichen Stellen zusammen und fördert nicht nur die Vorbereitung und Durchführung der Programme, sondern auch die anschließende Evaluation.

Wie Entwurmungsprogramme den Kindern langfristig helfen

Seit 2014 konnten mithilfe der Deworm the World Initiative über 1 Milliarden Behandlungen verabreicht werden, die positive Auswirkungen auf die Ernährung, die kognitiven Fähigkeiten, die Teilnahme am Unterricht und auf die langfristigen wirtschaftlichen Aussichten haben. Die Effektivität der Entwurmungsprogramme kann durch mehrere wissenschaftlich anerkannte Studien belegt werden. Die Zahl der infizierten Kinder sinkt dadurch drastisch; der Effekt ist umso stärker, je länger die Pillen verabreicht werden. 

Allein im Jahr 2017 konnten mithilfe von Deworm The World 280 Millionen Kinder erreicht werden. Das Projekt ist mit seinen Entwurmungsmaßnahmen nicht nur besonders kosteneffektiv, sondern ebenfalls sehr transparent und hat auch weiterhin ein hohes Wachstumspotenzial.

GiveDirectly

Jeder zehnte Mensch lebt von weniger als 1,90 Dollar am Tag – also in extremer Armut. Nun ist es aber so, dass Spendengelder bei vielen Programmen nicht direkt, sondern nur auf Umwegen bei den Bedürftigen ankommen. Klassische Projekte der Entwicklungszusammenarbeit werden oftmals stärker von politischen Entscheidungen, als von den tatsächlichen Bedürfnissen der hilfsbedürftigen Menschen geprägt. Zusätzlich gehen substantielle Anteile der Gelder häufig für Mitarbeiter:innen aus Geberländern oder Verwaltungskosten drauf.

GiveDirectly macht es anders: Hier wird Menschen, die in extremer Armut leben, Geld per Handy überwiesen. Die Summe entspricht dem Äquivalent eines Jahreseinkommens. In Kenia sind das ca. 1000 US-Dollar für einen Fünfpersonenhaushalt. Diese Geldtransfers sind an keinerlei Bedingungen geknüpft und die Empfänger:innen können sich damit beispielsweise dringend benötigte Lebensmittel und Medikamente kaufen oder Schulgebühren bezahlen. Sie müssen das Geld nicht zurückzahlen.

Wohin fließt das Geld?

Von den Spenden, die an GiveDirectly fließen, werden nur 15% für administrative Zwecke verwendet. Das ist ein außergewöhnlich niedriger Wert und macht die Geldtransfers äußerst effizient. Das Geld ist sehr sicher vor Korruption geschützt, da es über mobiles Banking direkt auf die Handy der Menschen überwiesen wird. Das Schöne an diesem Ansatz ist außerdem, dass er ohne viel Aufwand in andere Länder übertragen werden kann.

Man mag es vielleicht nicht sofort denken, aber bedingungslose Geldtransfers helfen Menschen – im Gegensatz zu vielen herkömmlichen Hilfsmaßnahmen – nachhaltig und zuverlässig aus der Armut heraus. Eine ganze Reihe wissenschaftlicher Studien hat das gezeigt. So stellen sich nicht nur nachhaltige Verbesserungen in Bereichen wie Bildung, Gesundheit und Sparquote ein, sondern auch positive Auswirkungen auf das körperliche und psychische Wohlbefinden der Empfänger:innen. Die Sorge, dass das Geld für Alkohol oder Drogen ausgegeben wird, ist übrigens – wie Studien immer wieder zeigen – unbegründet. 

Geldtransfers gehören zu den am besten evaluierten Ansätzen der Entwicklungszusammenarbeit. Auch GiveDirectly legt seit Beginn des Projektes viel Wert darauf, dass die Projekte wissenschaftlich begleitet und sorgfältig evaluiert werden. Die Organisation ist zudem sehr transparent und kosteneffektiv

Im Jahr 2018 hat GiveDirectly knapp 60 Millionen Dollar direkt an extrem arme Menschen ausgezahlt.